Dear Lord, People Are Actually Playing Quidditch

People are actually getting together to play Quidditch.  Dear Lord, they are really getting together to play Quidditch.  A tournament no less.  I really don’t get this. Has fandom gone too far?

I admit, I’m not the biggest Harry Potter fan in the world.  Heck, I’m not really even a fan at all.  It isn’t that I don’t like Harry Potter.  I just haven’t gotten around to it yet.  I’ve seen a movie or two, but that’s about it.  I haven’t read a single Harry Potter book yet, much less enough that I go around playing an imaginary sport. 

The thing that really gets me is, to my understanding, this sport is a specialized game relying on the use of magical powers.  Flying on brooms and such like that is an essential part of the game.  Of course, the people playing in the NYC tournament do not have magical powers.  They cannot fly on brooms or anything of the kind.  To make up for this fact, they have adapted the rules to fit non-magical players.

Um, excuse me?  You take a game that centers on the use of magical powers and adapt it for players who don’t have magical powers.  Why?  Doesn’t that take everything out of the game other than the fandom aspect?  Why not just play a sport designed for people without magical powers (football, soccer, cricket, baseball, volleyball, hockey, tennis, etc.) and then go to a Harry Potter convention?  Is there anything really left of this game other than some weird variety of field hockey and a bunch of Harry Potter-esque labels?  I certainly don’t see it if there is.

I can understand a game featuring in something people get into and want to be more a part of.  However, if they can’t play the game then they just can’t play the game (as in, they don’t have the requisite powers).  I mean, Herman Hesse fans kept trying to design a glass bead game off of the book, but even Hesse seemed to think that the game the fans came up with wasn’t what he imagined and wished they hadn’t tried.  It was cheap, it was fandom, and it wasn’t remotely like Hesse had described. 

To me, there are some things described in works that we like which we should just appreciate as the constructs of imagination that they are.  As much as we want to put ourselves in such a work, we don’t belong there as anything other than a reader/watcher/etc.  Anything else just seems kind of silly. 

Of course, this is just my reaction upon reading the article.  Everyone appears to be having fun playing their Harry Potter version of lacrosse so I guess my opinion really doesn’t matter.  I just don’t get it.  Not that they have to make sure I get it or anything, but I just don’t get it.  I do not understand.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

