Luddites For A Better Tomorrow: The Tribulations of Borders, The Invasion of Kindle/Nook

I would never dream of forming a militant Luddite society centered around the concept of preserving books through mutually-assured destruction of electronic books.  I mean, I like having a physical book, being able to hold it in my hand as I read it.  I like having a library.  I don’t so much like electronic readers like Kindle or Nook.  It just doesn’t seem the same.  However, to form such militant Luddite society would surely be wrong.

Sure, ebooks are one of the reasons cited for Borders dramatic store closures in attempt to recover from an insolvent situation.  Sure, perhaps as ebooks catch on more and more it will get harder and harder, possibly more expensive as well, to get a hold of and keep physical books.  That much may be true.

However, I can’t condone the idea (don’t ask if anyone has actually suggested this yet) of forming a society that builds, carries, and installs in various places electromagnetic pulse generators and then threatens the ebook people with mutually-assured destruction by destroying the ereaders if the prevalence of ebooks destroys actual books.  Possibly even with ululations and screams of “DEATH TO KINDLE/NOOK!”  Perhaps even with little tattoos on their buttocks showing a computer screen with the message “Cannot read drive c:.  Abort, Retry, Fail?”

It isn’t like I would provide links to plans such as these in order that they might be used for the above mentioned horrifying purposes:

http://www.wikihow.com/Build-an-Emp-Generator

http://www.amazing1.com/emp.htm

http://www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/thread59555/pg1

I mean, that surely wouldn’t be right (though it would at least be a little amusing that a society would call themselves Luddites and utilize an electrical appliance as their main weapon).  Even is I do love a good book, and a real one I mean, I would never suggest such a thing.  I might even have to sincerely shun anyone who would even suggest such a thing.

Of course, I am only one person and I can’t tell other people how to live.  I’m sorry to say that I can’t say for sure that other people out there might not form such a militant Luddite society.  Just remember that I didn’t suggest it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

