The Most Recent Evolution Of Cheap Beer: 36 Packs Of Boxer

I admit, I am a fan of cheap beer (Old Milwaukee, Schlitz, Old Style, Pabst Blue Ribbon, Miller High Life, Keystone, Busch, Budweiser, Milwaukee’s Best, and so on).  Many of my friends think this is a sin, but I am.  I enjoy good beer (Guinness, Chimay, Moose Drool, Fat Tire, Blue Paddle, Warsteiner, Bass Pale, Harps, and so on), but I think that is for having one or two.  If you’re in for a long haul you really aren’t going to be tasting the “good” and so you might as well go cheap.  Have a few good ones at first, but then break into the cheap.

The reason that this comes up for me is that upon my recent visit to Omaha I went to the store to get beer and I saw something I’d never seen before- a 36 pack of beer.  At one time there were only 6 packs.  Then there were 12 packs.  Life got significantly better when the case was invented, but even then that was overshadowed by the 30 pack.  Now we have 36 packs.  Life is wonderful.

Sure, it probably won’t fit into a fridge real well.  However, if you can’t work your way around this issue then you probably aren’t the target market of the 36 pack anyway.  It’s there for those of us that need it.

Frankly, I was a bit hesitant.  This was a 36 pack of a beer called “Boxer,” some newly domestically marketed Canadian beer, and it was even cheaper than the 30 packs of Old Milwaukee and Keystone.  My first reaction, since it was so cheap for so much beer ($14.99 a 36 pack) was to verify that it actually had alcohol (always check this, NA beer can be deceptively cheap if you don’t look enough to know what you are getting).  Surprisingly, it was alcoholic, even at that price (though strangely, the regular was 5% and the light version was 4%).  So, I bought it (the 5%, obviously).

I’m happy to report, it is actually pretty good.  There is actually some color and flavor to the beer, unlike Budweiser, Busch, Old Milwaukee, and such.  Hence, this newly domestically distributed Canadian beer is a boon to modern civilization.  It’s decent, cheap, and comes in bigger quantities than other beers.  What more can we ask for?  I’m going to have to start looking for this in Denver.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Most Recent Evolution Of Cheap Beer: 36 Packs Of Boxer

  1. Harry Becker says:

    Boxer is now in Delaware, at least in the northern part of Delaware. Boxer is good if it is cold, that is very cold. Try it you will like it. And yes, 36 fits into the ice box.

Leave a Reply

