Getting Ready To Get Myself In Trouble By Quoting Shakespeare To My Wife

I’m getting ready to get myself in some trouble. I’ve been reading The Complete Works of William Shakespeare and I just found the perfect quote to use on my wife. Doubtless, this well-intended jibe could very well result in my demise. Still, it’s too perfect to pass up.

You see, my wife has been studying French. This means she thinks it’s fun to occasionally say something to me in French, particularly because I don’t speak it. Most often when I say something to her she responds: pourquoi?

However, I read the following passage in “Twelfth Night; Or, What You Will”:

Sir Andrew Aguecheek.
What is pourquoi? do or not do? I would I had bestow’d that time in the tongues that I have in fencing, dancing, and bear-baiting: O, had I but follow’d the arts!

Obviously, I need to memorize this speech. Then, whenever she says pourquoi to me, I’ll recite it to her. It’ll be funny, but ’twill be dangerous. Wish me luck.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Getting Ready To Get Myself In Trouble By Quoting Shakespeare To My Wife

  1. Greg says:

    Response to pourqoui is either “no thanks, I prefer real butter” or “klatu verata niktu”. But I think she needs to be Gort for the second one.

Leave a Reply

