Hints That Your Driver Isn’t Safe

As a person who didn’t get his driver’s license until almost fourteen years after turning 16, I accumulated a lot of experience as a passenger. Though driver’s have to be sure that they are fit to drive when they get on the road, passengers should perhaps make similar judgments about their driver. There are some key hints you can look for that your driver may not be fit.

One experience particularly comes to mind. I was getting ready to take the ACT and my girlfriend at the time was going to drive me. My test was scheduled for 8AM, which was normally about the time that we went to bed. About a week previous I stayed up all night and then crashed to start getting my time clock straightened out so I wouldn’t fuck up the test. However, my girlfriend at the time had not. She just tried getting up early and then going to bed at 11pm the previous day and hoping for the best. As a result, since this had not worked, she had not slept at all by the time we got in the car.

Mind you, I got to the test okay. However, she was not able to go to sleep after dropping me off as she would not have been able to come and get me again. Instead, she had to stay up the several hours it took me to take the test and then pick me up again.

The second ride was a little more alarming. At one point, she was saying something that involved the word ‘bubble.’ In her fatigue, she tripped up on the word and said ‘bubboo.’ This amused her. She laughed and started saying the word ‘bubboo’ over and over again. This was my hint that she should not have been driving. Quite likely, she was a danger to herself and others.

However, I had little choice at the time. I could not drive and we were almost home. In fact, we made it home. However, the lesson remains. If, as a passenger, your driver starts laughing and repeatedly saying the word ‘bubboo,’ perhaps you should question whether or not that person should be driving. Just saying.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

