Cheap Apartment Landlord Loses Out Putting Thermostat In Common Hallway

Okay, I’m pretty sure people are getting pretty sick by now of me bitching about the shittiest apartment I ever lived in. I can’t help it, though. That place just involved so many stories. I haven’t even gotten below the surface yet. One thing I know is that they shouldn’t have put the thermostat for the building in the common hallway.

To explain, one of the reasons that utilities were included in this building was that it was on steam heat. You know the drill, central boiler somewhere and radiators in the units. There was really no way to do it other than have the landlord pay.

However, cheap as this place was, they didn’t want to have the tenants in charge of their own temperature. As such, they put the thermostat out in the hallway in a locked Plexiglas box. This way, only the landlord could come in with a key and change the heat settings (the building had no air conditioning). Though this sounds like a good plan, I think it cost them far more than just having individual thermostats in the units.

You see, as I mentioned before, the building had shitty security doors that people were always propping open because there was no call box, keypad, or intercom system. That meant that, due to the open door, the hallway was basically outside. Sure, people closed the door from time to time and you couldn’t rely on it for guest admittance, but that hallway was cold as shit. Especially when it was fifteen degrees outside.

Think about it, the thermostat was in the hallway. The hallway was significantly colder than any of the units. That meant the heat was constantly running. That also meant that the units were unbearably hot. I wouldn’t have been surprised if my apartment was frequently in the nineties. I often kept my windows open even when it was well below zero (Fahrenheit).

As such, I’m not sure that the common hallway thermostat saved them any money. The heat just ran all the time and we just let it all outside. It may have given them control, but I have to think it just would have been cheaper to put thermostats in the units and not unintentionally turn the units into furnaces. That’s just my thoughts, though. They didn’t care what I thought.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

