The 1959 Dennis the Menace TV Series Was One Of The Big Disappointments of my Early Life

I want to say one thing, The 1959 Dennis the Menace TV series was one of the big disappointments of my early life. I’m sure I’m not alone on this. I blame Nickelodeon as well as anyone else I can think of.

After all, when I was a kid I liked the Dennis the Menace comic strip. I’m not so big on it anymore (it seems kind of overly simplistic now), but I liked it then.  Here’s an example:

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/-n205WCFnlYk/TfsIzT9iDFI/AAAAAAAACB0/y8erjAUVTO8/s400/DENNIS+THE+MENACE+6.png

So, when I saw that Nick @ Nite had a Dennis the Menace TV show, I tried watching it. In fact, I kept trying to watch it despite the fact that I hated it. It was obnoxious, grating, and boring. Still, it was supposed to be related to the comic I liked so I kept trying to like it. It never worked. Just take a look at this episode and I think you’ll agree:

Frankly, I don’t know what the fuck they were doing with Nick @ Nite anyway. Why not come up with an entirely different channel? Nickelodeon was for kids and Nick @ Nite was for people who liked boring sitcoms from the fifties. However, because they appeared related, I kept trying to watch Nick @ Nite shows. This was very confusing for a child. I tried watching My Three Sons for fuck sake. My Three Sons! Why didn’t somebody do something?!

There’s no excuse for this crap. I was a vulnerable child and nobody protected me from Nick @ Nite. That stupid Dennis the Menace TV show was an extreme disappointment, and I had to suffer it repeatedly because I didn’t understand. Luckily I knew better when that shitty movie version came out in 1993. Still, I’ll never get that portion of my childhood back. Please, Nick @ Nite, think of the children.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

