Will It Ever Be Okay To Admit That My First Reaction To The News About Dahmer Was Laughter?

First off, I want to say that I don’t think Jeffrey Dahmer is funny. He was a terrible, twisted person. However, I have to admit to myself that when I first heard the news about him being discovered with a severed head in his refrigerator, I laughed. I don’t know if it will ever be okay to admit this…but it is what it is.

Again, I found nothing funny about Dahmer. He was a sick fucking bastard. I did laugh, but it wasn’t really about Dahmer. It wasn’t about his crimes or his victims. It was about Jack Handey.

You see, my favorite of the Deep Thoughts by Jack Handey bit was always: “As I bit into the nectarine, it had a crisp juiciness about it that was very pleasurable—until I realized it wasn’t a nectarine at all, but A HUMAN HEAD!!”

Think about this now. Think about the line above and think about hearing that Jeffrey Dahmer was caught with a severed head in his refrigerator. For just a brief moment on hearing the news I thought: Oh my god…he isn’t a serial killer, Jack Handey just went fruit shopping!

Inappropriate? Hell yes. Will it ever be acceptable to admit that this was my first reaction? I don’t know. Regardless, I’ve gone ahead and admitted it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

