Bottom Line For Me On The Chick-fil-A Debate? I Never Liked Their Food.

I really didn’t want to get into this whole debate about Chick-fil-A. Everything has already been said, no one on either side is going to convince the other side of anything, and it’s rapidly becoming just a lot of noise. However, I did want to make clear that the bottom line on this issue for me is that I never liked Chick-fil-A’s food to begin with.

That’s right, I am one of the people who just never thought Chick-fil-A was much to crow about even before they decided to take a formal position on a polarized issue. I didn’t think their food was really bad, not like Hardee’s or anything, but it just always struck me as kind of ‘blah.’

I’m serious. I don’t dig their fries. Frankly, I prefer McDonalds. Their chicken struck me as kind of ‘ho-hum’ as well. Frankly, I prefer KFC. Even their shakes were nothing for me to get excited about. It was all okay, but nothing really to look forward to.

Given how Chick-fil-A’s food stacks up against other fast food nutritionally (hint: it’s still fast food so watch yourself), I didn’t really want to eat there at all. Fast food has consequences nutritionally. If I’m going to suck that up then there should at least be a reason for it (i.e., it’s really tasty…which Chick-fil-A is not to me).

So, what it really comes down to for me is that I never wanted to go to Chick-fil-A in the first place. I’d much rather go to another fast food restaurant, another kind of restaurant, or just eat at home. When they decide to make their position on a polarizing issue part of their corporate identity so I have little choice but to think about that when patronizing them (my wife USED to want to go there all the time) then I want to go there even less, but I really never wanted to go anyway.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Bottom Line For Me On The Chick-fil-A Debate? I Never Liked Their Food.

  1. Jon Konrath says:

    If I was back in your neck of the woods and I had the spare calories to spend on fried chicken, I’d go to Steuben’s. I’m glad I didn’t try their chicken until I moved out of Denver, or they’d be trying to cut me out of my house by now.

Leave a Reply

