Shouldn’t KFC Have To Serve Chicken?

Okay, here is a serious question for the world to ponder: shouldn’t KFC have to sell chicken? Isn’t that what they are all about? I certainly thought so, but a recent trip to the Denver airport suggests otherwise.

To explain, I was mildly enthused when I realized my recent flight from the Denver airport was going to take off from a different terminal than I normally used. Why? Because this different terminal had a KFC (my other one only had a McDonalds). It’s not like KFC is an obsession for me, but I am quite fond of the original recipe fried chicken and since my wife and I have been trying to eat better I haven’t gotten any in a while. As such, I got to the airport and lined up in front of the KFC.

However, this was the moment that I made several unpleasant realizations. The first was that this was a KFC express. All right, I could deal with that…except that the second realization was that KFC express’s apparently don’t serve fried chicken. That was a significant problem.

Oh sure, they had chicken. It wouldn’t be a KFC without that. But, as I mournfully looked over the menu board, I realized that they only had chicken sandwiches and did not in fact have any fried chicken. I was crushed. Then I went to McDonalds.

After all, shouldn’t KFC be required to sell fried chicken? Isn’t that what they are all about? All right, maybe a business can sell whatever it wants within the bounds of the law…but this was just cruel. I had my hopes and dreams for original recipe fried chicken crushed for no good reason. They didn’t have to sell actual fried chicken, but they certainly pissed me the fuck off.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

