Why Does KFC Have Other Sides Besides Mashed Potatoes And Gravy And Corn On The Cob?

I was watching a commercial for KFC the other day (where they were talking about all these different sides you could get as part of some meal deal) and it got me thinking. Why the hell does KFC have sides other than mashed potatoes and gravy and corn on the cob? Does anybody really order anything other than that?

I guess I’d just never thought about it before. Apparently, they have a bunch of other available sides: baked beans, mac & cheese, seasoned rice, potato wedges, green beans, cole slaw, and biscuits. I was astounded. Why would they have all this crap available?

I could understand biscuits to some extent, though I don’t like that kind of biscuit myself (I prefer the peeling layers kind of Pillsbury biscuit). The other stuff just baffles me.

Frankly, the mac & cheese just looks gross and I never have liked baked beans. Really though, some of this just doesn’t make any sense. Seasoned rice? Potato wedges? Why would anybody get that instead of mashed potatoes and gravy or corn on the cob? Even if you kind of like green beans…why let that take up valuable stomach space that could otherwise go to mashed potatoes and gravy or corn on the cob?

I just don’t get it. Somebody must buy that crap or they wouldn’t sell it, but it just doesn’t make any sense to me. If everyone was me then KFC would sell nothing but original recipe fried chicken, mashed potatoes and gravy, and corn on the cob. I guess everyone must not be me, since they sell other things.

Regardless, it makes me a bit concerned about the rest of you fuckers. If you honestly prefer baked beans to mashed potatoes and gravy then there is not way of telling what other unholy thoughts you might be thinking. There is just no way to predict.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Why Does KFC Have Other Sides Besides Mashed Potatoes And Gravy And Corn On The Cob?

  1. jkonrath says:

    I could understand potato wedges, because they are utensil-less. I couldn’t imagine trying to eat mashed potatoes while driving. Also apparently KFC dusts them with crack cocaine, because I can never stop eating them.

  2. Sara says:

    The Mac n cheese is actually really good. It’s the KFC that only serve potato wedges and biscuits that freak me out. Why get the fried chicken if you can’t get any good sides with it?

    • We’ll have to agree to disagree on that one. I could totally get the chicken without any sides and have done so on numerous occasions. Though, I don’t care for the biscuits or the potato wedges.

Leave a Reply

