Thinking About Viral Videos To Promote My Soon To Be Published Novel In Short Story Form “Bones Buried in the Dirt”

As I mentioned before, my novel in short story form “Bones Buried in the Dirt” will be published sometime around the end of this year or early 2013 by River Otter Press. Because of that, I’ve been thinking of various odd videos I could make to promote the book and release, hoping for a chance they go viral. So far, I’m not having much success…but I have time.

I mean, I can’t exactly afford a publicist. I probably won’t be doing any multiple city book tours. I’ve got to get the word out somehow. Making a video that mentions the book and having it screwed up enough that people share the video seems like a good idea. Maybe it’s not, but we’ll have to see.

My best idea so far just doesn’t seem very workable at this point. “Bones Buried in the Dirt” centers on a child narrator. However, I don’t have children. In fact, I don’t really like kids that much. Some are cool, but some annoy the crap out of me. This situation surprises people who read the book. As such, I thought about having a video where I’m out somewhere in public and some child is screaming and wildly misbehaving. Suddenly, I walk up and smack the child and scream back: Shut up! Then a voice says: I’m not really comfortable with children. Why the hell then did I write a book with a child narrator?

However, this idea is bad on many levels. First off, I’m not down with child abuse. I may get impulses like this occasionally, but I would never really do something like that. I was a pretty annoying kid myself and it would be hypocritical. Besides, this would probably get me arrested. There is also the chance that it would send the wrong message about the book. It’s just wrong on so many levels.

But…it’s my best idea so far. I also thought about committing some stupid stunt so that the video gets circulated wildly as well. However, that would have nothing to do with the book. Really, I don’t have a lot of good ideas yet. All my best ideas went into the book.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

