Best Moment Of The 2012 London Olympics? Eric Idle In The Closing Ceremony.

There have certainly been a number of memorable moments in the 2012 Summer Olympics in London. Michael Phelps finally admitting that he has a hoarding problem regarding Olympic medals, Usain Bolt causing problems for camera coverage by running faster than the speed of light, Gabby Douglas demonstrating that people are so shallow as to be more worried about her hair than her dramatic athletic performance, and so on. However, the highlight for me happens to be when I looked up and saw Eric Idle singing “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life” during the closing ceremonies.

Now, I know that the Python group is known the world over. I know that England is certainly very proud of them, and justifiably so. However, I just could not believe that they chose to have Idle sing this song during the closing Olympic ceremonies. Mind you, I LOVED that they did.

After all, this was the final song in Life of Brian, one of the most fun irreverent movies involving religion I’ve ever seen. For god sake, the song (about always looking on the bright side of life, curiously enough) is sung as the characters are CRUCIFIED! It’s irreverent. It’s hysterical. It is so not what I expected a country to put forth in what is usually a pompous and conservative show of just how classy a country is.

Hell, Idle even got to deliver the line: “Life’s a piece of shit/When you look at it.” Of course, NBC bleeped him. I’m sure other networks bleeped him as well. Further, I didn’t watch the whole thing, but I do note that the ‘always look on the bright side of death’ parts of the song appeared to be missing.

Regardless, I am more impressed right now with the United Kingdom than I have ever been in my life. Given the usual way that countries represent themselves in this kind of thing, I think the UK has shown an ability to not take themselves too seriously that I think is so often missing in this world. Kudos UK. Sincerely, my hat is off to you.

 

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

