Should We Adopt An American Idol Model For Politics?

As election year wears on, I am (as usual) fighting to prevent myself from chewing through my own wrists in order to avoid election coverage and/or phone calls. I know I go on about this a lot, but I did suddenly have an idea which could potentially help: switching to an American Idol model for politics. I doubt anyone is interested, but I thought I’d share.

Think about it, the model for a lot of these shows like American Idol, X-Factor, So You Think You Can Dance, America’s Got Talent, and such is that people who are at least arguably experts evaluate a mass of potential contestants. Eventually, as the contest progresses, the arguable experts merely provide commentary on performances and the home audience actually decides who proceeds based on voting.

Mind you, I don’t watch these shows so some of the ones described above might not work exactly like this, but you get the idea.

Regardless, as much as I’m a fan of democracy, I could really go for a bit of this arguable expert screening process in politics. We could get rid of so many countless politicians who are just batshit crazy but manage to pander to voters well. Sure, this wouldn’t eliminate this entirely. Sure, it would take some of the power out of the hands of the people. Still, I have to admit that the idea appeals to me.

After all, we could still see the really oddball candidates in the videos they show us about people who had no chance of making it. Then, once we have actual good candidates we still have the popular ability to choose. Either way, we would have somebody screening candidates. At this point we just have the media to help us and the media viewed by people belonging to each party is just as polarized, separated, and biased as the people belonging to the party and the party itself. It just seems like we’re in a bad spot.

Now, I don’t know if I really think this is a good idea or not. I have many, many bad ideas. I just think this one sounds nicer than what we’re doing now. Of course, if the entire country could agree on anything then we probably wouldn’t be in the situation we are now.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

