Might Women Misuse Study Results Suggesting Stressed Guys Attracted To More Ample Body Types?

I happened to come across a study that suggests that stressed men prefer heavier women. Their rational makes a certain amount of sense, that instinctively men react to stress by partners perceived as less weak, but I wonder if heterosexual women might be tempted to misuse the results of this study.

For example, take a situation we have all been in (or, most of us). The setting is a restaurant. A woman is considering whether or not to order the cheese fries. She realizes that she does not need the cheese fries, but wants them. She ponders the effect that the cheese fries will have upon her body…and then sets fire to her boyfriend’s truck.

After all, if heavier partners are more attractive to people who are stressed (perhaps not just guys), why not stress out your partner in order to not have to watch one’s figure as much? As long as your partner doesn’t figure out what you are doing and gets mad about it, doesn’t it seem like a good strategy? It beats missing the cheese fries.

Mind you, I’m definitely one who prefers curves to straight lines anyway. I don’t know if that means I’m a stressed sort of person, but I usually regarded it as a preference for actual women as opposed to some stress-coping mechanism.

Either way, I think this study has a possibility to be misused. Hell, I’m tempted to misuse it myself. I wonder if this study is any indication about stressed women having a thing for pudgy guys. After all, I’m hankering for some cheese fries….

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

