Reading I Am Most Excited About This Month? Molly Ringwald.

As most people who know me know, I try to hit at least one reading per month. Usually I find them at either the Colfax or Lodo Tattered Cover locations in Denver. They have tons, so I usually get great ones to choose from. However, September will be a red letter month. Molly Ringwald is coming Wednesday September 19th to read from her new book When It Happens to You: A Novel in Stories. You can bet your ass I’m going to be there.

I can’t tell you how much I’m looking forward to this. I mean, Michael Chabon will also be coming to read for his new book Telegraph Avenue, on Friday September 14th, but I’m as excited about that. Don’t get me wrong, I’ll definitely be there, but still, as much as I love Michael Chabon…he isn’t Molly Ringwald.

Molly fucking Ringwald!

I’m serious here. As much as I loved books like The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay, The Mysteries of Pittsburgh, and The Yiddish Policemen’s UnionChabon still isn’t Samantha Baker, Claire Standish, or Andie Walsh (plus, I’ve already gotten a chance to hear him talk, excellent as it was, at AWP a few years ago in Denver). The Breakfast Club? Sixteen Candles? Pretty in Pink? I can’t wait to meet Molly Ringwald.

Mind you, I don’t know Molly’s writing. I definitely love Chabon’s writing and I haven’t gotten to see Molly’s yet, but I’m excited to see. I’m at least going to read it and I’m definitely going to meet her. There’s just no way to lose with that. Even if there’s no character named Long Duk Dong, there’s still no way to lose, and I’m betting there’s a good chance I’ll like her book as well.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

