Moab Area Nude Beach Fails To Interest Me

My wife and I went on a kayaking trip this weekend in the Moab area. While we were putting in the water, the guide happened to mention that the beach next to us was typically used as a nude beach. However, this fact did not interest me. I didn’t even look. This may sound surprising, but there were reasons.

One reason had to do with the fact that I’d seen so many people in the Moab area already whom I would not want to see naked. I’d seen a lot of elderly people, large families, and other such people who wouldn’t be my first choice to see naked. I didn’t expect that the beach nearby would be any different.

Also, there was the fact that the guide mentioned that he didn’t usually put in near the nude beach, but there didn’t seem to be anybody there at that time. He could have been wrong, but if he was right then it wasn’t very interesting. A nude beach without people is just a beach.

However, the main reason that I was utterly uninterested in the nude beach is that I wasn’t wearing my glasses. I didn’t wear my glasses because there was too much risk I’d lose them kayaking. I can kayak without glasses, but I wouldn’t have been able to see anyone on the beach. Thus, if anyone had been naked on the beach I would have been unable to see them. A nude beach I can’t see is utterly uninteresting.

As such, though I was apparently by a nude beach, I wasn’t much interested in that fact. I can pretend I’m above such things…but it was really that I wasn’t going to be able to see any potentially naked people anyway.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

