Trip To Moab Results In Many Lifelong Enemies For My Wife

As I mentioned in yesterday’s post, my wife and I took a trip to the Moab region this last weekend. What won’t be a surprise is that we did a lot of hiking in Arches National Park and Canyonlands National Park. What might be a surprise, however, is the number of lifelong enemies that my wife made.

You see, even with all the possibilities for hiking, there is still a lot of driving you have to do in these parks in order to get to the various trails. This driving is usually done on a thin, winding road. Frequently, one of two situations occurred on these roads. Either we (my wife was driving) were behind someone going well below the speed limit for the road (upwards of twenty miles per hour below, and they refused to pull off at any of the pull offs to let people by) so they could take pictures from their car or we were in front of someone who wanted to go faster than the speed limit (by upwards of ten miles an hour or more).

This is where my wife made many lifelong enemies.

As I mentioned, my wife did most of the driving in the parks (she doesn’t trust me to drive in more challenging conditions). When trapped behind the slow drivers taking pictures from their cars instead of pulling off, my wife insulted them mercilessly and relentlessly (also creatively). When trapping speeding drivers behind us, my wife refused to pull over to let them by, insisting the speed limit was all they were allowed.

Frankly, I think she was keeping track of these people. Whether the quick or the slow enemies, I believe my wife knows exactly who each is and will keep track of them for the rest of her life in order to exact any possible revenge. Honestly, I may even be in trouble for revealing this secret. If anything happens to me, you’ll know why.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

