Lack Of Creativity Naming Arches At Arches Somewhat Understandable

Beating the dead horse of my recent trip to Moab yet again, I was just pondering the lack of creativity in naming the arches of Arches National Park.  For example, double o arch is a set of two arches that are each somewhat O-shaped. Not exactly imaginative naming.

Though, I can understand. The park claims to have 2000 arches (to qualify as an arch, a hole that is at least three feet wide must be formed from a single rock). I suppose you can’t expect too much creativity in naming 2000 different things.

And, in fact, the park admits such. We were on the ranger guided tour of the fiery furnace that I told you about a few days ago and the ranger was talking about some of the arches we saw. The arch we just walked through? Yeah, that was walk-through arch. The arch we were about to crawl through? Yeah, that was crawl through arch. The ranger then admitted that they liked to pick simple names.

It was also at this point, while the ranger was talking and we were getting ready to crawl through crawl through arch, that my wife turned and asked if I thought I could make it through the arch. It was, after all, a pretty tight fit.

“No problem,” I responded. “I just hope we aren’t going anywhere near hokey pokey arch.”

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

