I Think I Deserve To Have Literary Street Cred Since I Saved Adam Levin From Freddy Krueger

I think I should get to have some serious literary street cred right now, because I saved Adam Levin (author of The Instructions and Hot Pink) from Freddy Krueger.

I woke up from a weird dream recently. I only remember the last bit of it, but apparently Adam Levin was in a Nightmare on Elm Street movie. It was one of those bits where Adam had obviously survived a previous movie and was reflecting because he’d gone to look at the old Krueger house in the daytime. Of course, he didn’t know that it was really a dream.

A little boy spoke to him and Adam guided the little boy away from the neighborhood and then walked off himself, the little boy watching him go. Of course again, the little boy was really Krueger. We all know what was supposed to happen next. Suddenly the block would turn to night and suddenly he’d be inside the Krueger house. Then Freddy would kill him.

However, though I didn’t let Adam see me, I went up to the boy and walked beside him. For some reason, I was in the movie but wasn’t ‘in’ the movie. Thus, I wasn’t bound by the script. I threatened Freddy.

By the way, upon waking it seems weird now that it was a little boy and not one of the little girls in white.

Anyway, I told Freddy that he better leave Josh alone. I don’t know why, but I was calling Adam Levin ‘Josh’ in the dream. I told Freddy if he did anything against Josh (Adam) that I’d take him out of the dream and kill him, and in the dream I was certain I could do that without any difficulty. He laughed at first, but then I asked if he knew who I was. He seemed hesitant all of a sudden and said he didn’t. I clapped him on the shoulder and half-kiddingly told him I was an angel. Then I laughed because he didn’t want to believe me, but did. That’s when I woke up.

Now, doesn’t saving Adam Levin from Freddy Krueger merit me some literary street cred? Don’t you think it means people should buy my novel in short story form, Bones Buried in the Dirt, when it comes out in March of 2013? Sure, some people might say this was just a dream and that I didn’t really save Adam from Freddy Krueger…but those people aren’t familiar with Nightmare on Elm Street movies.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

