Red Lobster Really Needs To Add Shrimp Cocktail To The Endless Shrimp

Red Lobster is yet again doing their endless shrimp deal. For approximately $15 you get to have as many iterations of approximately five shrimp dishes as you want. Because my wife loves endless shrimp, we are of course going. Yet, Red Lobster, couldn’t you please make shrimp cocktail part of this deal?

Personally, I don’t think that much of this promotion. They do it again and again, and my wife wants to go every time. Most of these dishes make me sick, though, all fried and full of butter and whatnot. I’d rather just have plain shrimp cocktail. However, that isn’t one of the choices.

This season, the choices are: Teriyaki Grilled Shrimp, Parmesan Shrimp, Garlic Shrimp Scampi, Shrimp Linguini Alfredo, and Hand-Breaded Shrimp. Teriyaki Grilled Shrimp is the healthiest, though the sauce is kind of gross and it comes on a bed of gross rice. Hand-Breaded Shrimp is deep-fried. Shrimp Linguini Alfredo may not be fried, but it has that heavy gross Alfredo sauce. Technically Parmesan Shrimp and Garlic Shrimp Scampi aren’t fried, but they are literally baked in butter/margarine. In short, it’s all kind of heavy and nauseating if you try to eat a good amount of it.

Frankly, this is only the illusion of variety anyway. Parmesan Shrimp and Garlic Shrimp Scampi are really the same damned thing. They are both really shrimp scampi. One just has cheese and one has garlic.

And Teriyaki Grilled Shrimp? Red Lobster lists this as new. However, I had it the last time they did endless shrimp. That isn’t new anymore.

Really, though other people might really go for these selections, they just aren’t something I want to eat an endless amount of. I wipe the sauce off the Teriyaki Grilled Shrimp and ignore the rice. I do the same thing with the Shrimp Linguini Alfredo, though it’s pasta I’m ignoring instead of rice. The Hand-Breaded Shrimp? I spend most of my time peeling off the breading so I can eat just the shrimp. For me, endless of this just isn’t much of a bargain. I’d rather just have shrimp cocktail.

Of course, I know why Red Lobster doesn’t put shrimp cocktail on the endless shrimp deal. That would cost a lot more money. As such, they are going to keep having the same shrimp specials as part of this that kind of turn my stomach. And, my wife is going to keep dragging me to Red Lobster for endless shrimp.

Well played, Red Lobster. Well played.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

