There Is A Chance I Have Michael Chabon’s Cold

I have a cold. This is an unpleasant fact, but it is one I have to accept. Of course, I’m looking for any silver lining that I can. That’s why I’m telling myself that I have Michael Chabon’s cold.

After all, it is within the realm of possibility. Michael Chabon was coming down with a cold when he did the reading for Telegraph Avenue last Friday at Tattered Cover Lodo. I did shake his hand in the signing line. I wasn’t sick before that…but by Tuesday night I was. There is a chance that I have Michael Chabon’s cold.

For me, that at least would be a little better. I mean, if I can’t have Michael Chabon’s talent, or his literary success, I could at least have his cold. It would be better than just a run of the mill cold, right? It certainly would not be a common cold, right?

Granted, it is far more likely that I simply picked this cold up from someone I know. I do know a few other people who have been sick, and I’m sure it will go away in a day or two anyway. Still, for the moment, I’m just going to decide that I have Michael Chabon’s cold. Things are more interesting that way.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

