An Oktoberfest That Only Sells Samuel Adams?

The wife and I went to the Oktoberfest in Denver last night, and we were a bit disappointed this year. For one thing, they were only selling Samuel Adams. This just didn’t feel right.

Now, I suppose I only have so much right to complain. After all, I wasn’t even drinking anyway. Regardless, we’ve gone to the Denver Oktoberfest every year for the last couple of years. It was bigger this time than it has been in past years…but it didn’t feel very German. The Samuel Adams thing was part of it.

I mean, where was the Warsteiner? Where was any beer that seemed vaguely German? Samuel Adams may be a decent beer, and they could even have some German-style varieties that they market, but they just aren’t German beer. I know they were probably the exclusive beer because they probably sponsored the event, but at some point the event just isn’t Oktoberfest anymore. Samuel Adams isn’t German beer and it just isn’t the right beer for Oktoberfest for me.

Perhaps others disagree, but this just contributed to an overall non-Oktoberfest feel for me. I mean, there was no German beer. There was much fewer choices for German food, only one of which had German potato salad (and that was a very strange, sweet variety that seemed far from traditional). The German music was so far down at one end of the event and was so overshadowed by the normal band (which was a good band, but not German and was so loud that it overshadowed the German music) that you really couldn’t hear traditional Oktoberfest music at most of the festival. Even the stalls were non-German for the most part, many being for things like satellite TV providers.

Really, it just didn’t feel like Oktoberfest. It just seemed like a big, non-themed street fest. That’s fine and I’m sure people had fun, but it just wasn’t Oktoberfest for me. I’ll be looking to spend next Oktoberfest at one of my favorite local German places. Even if they aren’t having a celebration, it would feel much more ‘right.’

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to An Oktoberfest That Only Sells Samuel Adams?

  1. Greg says:

    Another Americanized festival. Sigh.

  2. DJ says:

    I enjoy Boulevard’s “Bob’s ’47 Oktoberfest.”

    • Sure, I’m not saying non-German companies can’t make German-style beer. That’s a great one, in fact. I’m just saying that an Oktoberfest celebration feels weird when it only serves non-German beer.

  3. Pingback: My Wife And I Hold Our Own Oktoberfest Celebration | David Atkinson's Blog

Leave a Reply

