Revulsion Overtakes Sympathy For Man Who Dies After Roach Eating Contest

I like to think that I am a decent human being. When someone dies, usually my first feeling is sadness that a human being has passed. I usually feel sympathy for their loved ones as well, sympathy that they have lost someone. However, reading this article about a poor guy (Edward Archbold, age 32) who died after a roach eating contest, my first feeling is revulsion over the fact that there was a roach eating contest.

I feel bad about this. My first thoughts, first and foremost, should be for this poor guy and his poor family and friends. After all, this poor guy just died. Regardless of anything else, a human being is gone and will not be coming back.

But, I cannot get over my disgust that there were people eating cockroaches. If I understand correctly, these things were even live. I just can’t help it, my cockroach revulsion takes over and I react to that first before my sympathy reaction even comes into play.

Mind you, I still feel sympathy for this guy. I feel sad that he has passed and I feel for his friends and family. I just feel guilty that this activity is such that my disgust overtakes my sympathy as my first emotion.

Of course, after the disgust and the sympathy, I also wonder about this contest. It seems somewhat cruel. Even though I find cockroaches disgusting, eating them live seems cruel. I would not hesitate to kill cockroaches, but I don’t see the need for this kind of thing. Admittedly, that’s probably just a squeamish reaction since these things are raised as live pet food and I have never objected to that. Regardless, that is neither here nor there as Edward Archbold did not organize the contest and only participated. Also, I would not question his behavior since the poor guy has passed on.

So, I feel bad for Edward Archbold. A human being has passed and that is always a tragic thing. I am sorry for his friends and family and I am sorry that my disgust for the activity he engaged in slightly before his death overtook my sympathy for a moment. I am also sorry that this poor man’s death is now national news because of a strange event that he chose to take part in shortly before he died. The senseless loss of a man barely in his thirties should be the primary thing people are concerned with, but that seems to get lost a little bit in the oddity of the contest.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

