Imagine If Everyone Participating In The “Binders Full Of Women” Meme Actually Voted

I have to say, I’m a bit surprised by the whole “Binders Full Of Women” meme. I didn’t watch the debate, but I saw quips about this comment go up and almost instantly the meme had started. I got a chuckle out of it, but I started thinking…what if all the people who were this fired up about the meme actually got this fired up about voting?

I mean, people seem pretty fired up about this election. I don’t just mean one side, I mean all (pro-Obama, pro-Romney, anti-Obama, anti-Romney, anti-ObamaandRomney, etc.). Given all the excitement, I would think we should be seeing a record high voter turnout when the election comes…but I’m not expecting it.

If past experience is any indicator, we just won’t see the amount of interest in actual voting as there was in the drama that surrounds the election. That just bothers me. I really wish, regardless of a person’s views, that they would actually go out and vote if the election has captured their interest enough to participate in the drama. Still, we’ll have to see what happens come election day. Maybe we will have a record turnout.

Or, maybe people just like memes like “Binders Full of Women.”

I admit, the comment sounds bad. But from what people have told me (I haven’t checked), the comment came out of a story of how Romney’s people were presenting him all males, insisting there were no qualified women, and he went out and proved that there was a tremendous number of qualified women that his people just hadn’t located (indicating a flaw in their searching process). If that’s correct, and true, then Romney appears to have been in the right place, though he could perhaps have chosen a better phrasing. Still, I didn’t watch the debate and I don’t fully grasp the entire situation behind “Binders Full of Women.”

In any event, I’m just afraid that people are more into having fun with this election than making their voices heard. I really hope I’m wrong on this and an incredible number of people vote (even binders full), but I’m worried that they won’t.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

