Mirror TV Encourages Delusion?

I saw a post from a friend of mine on Facebook mentioning that her hotel room had a TV embedded in the mirror. I thought this was a joke at first, but it turns out to be real. Personally, aren’t Americans delusional enough? I don’t think this is a problem for my friend in particular, but I can see problems for a lot of people.

Now, I know that you are supposed to turn off the TV when you are using the mirror…but I’m betting some people won’t. This surely would lead to some people thinking things about their appearance that are not true. For example, too many American men already suffer under the delusion that they look like George Clooney (they do not). Do we really need to make this worse?

Think about it. Let’s say you are a big George Clooney fan. You watch programs starring him all the time. And, therefore, you see George Clooney every time you look in the mirror (because you don’t turn off the TV when fixing your hair). On a subconscious level, you begin to think you look like George Clooney (instead, perhaps, of Abe Vigoda).

I’m just saying, we are pretty used to seeing ourselves when we look in a mirror. Are we psychologically prepared to see something else?

Regardless, I’m keeping my mirror as just a mirror. I already have more than enough televisions. I don’t need to put one in the bathroom. Also, it would probably be a good idea if I used the mirror once in a while.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

