Why Are Liquor Companies Advertising Basic Drink Recipes?

I’ve noticed a number of different liquor manufacturers putting out commercials recently where they give you the recipe for an extremely basic drink. This puzzles me. Complex drink recipes I can understand, but the ones I’ve seen are so basic as to make the commercials a bit ridiculous.

For example, I swear I saw a commercial where some person guides you through making a Disaronno and ginger ale. Now, I don’t want to do any spoilers here, but you put the Disaronno in a glass with some ginger ale. To really get wacky, you add some ice. I think there is a variant on the commercial where they show you how to make a Disaronno and cranberry juice.

Really? No Singapore Slings or Harvey Wallbangers? Do they really think we need help on these drinks? You just dump two things together! It’s not that hard.

I don’t know, maybe they just don’t think we can follow anything else. It’s not like they have that much time in a commercial to be able to lead us through something really complex, but still. Don’t just show us a drink recipe where the name of the drink tells us all we need to know. Give us something more than that. Something.

Now, I don’t mean to pick on Disaronno here. I saw something similar with a vodka manufacturer recently. I don’t remember who it was, but I swear the commercial was how to make a bloody mary. The steps were: put vodka in glass and add bloody mary mix.

I realize that some of these liquor manufacturers are just trying to tell people different ways that the liquor can be used, show its versatility if you will. However, there has to be a way for that to happen without insulting our intelligence quite as much. Deserved or not, it just makes for really idiotic commercials.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Why Are Liquor Companies Advertising Basic Drink Recipes?

  1. las artes says:

    Disaronno can be served on the rocks , in shots, as part of a cocktail ( check out the DiSaronno cocktail competition in LA http://lacocktails.com/2012/05/25/disaronno-mixing-star-la-regional-competition/ ) or with a Cola drink or apple and cherry juice. I love to mix it in cookie dough and cakes.

Leave a Reply

