I Got A Mango

I worked at a coffee and sandwich shop up by the beach in West Seattle for a while. One of the things we served was smoothies. To prep for this, we had to portion out various frozen fruits into little bags, each bag of mixed frozen fruits corresponding to a smoothie we would later make. Some of these smoothies involved frozen mango. I mention this because of Johnny Bravo.

At the time, I was watching a lot of cartoons. Yes, I was in my mid twenties. There was a commercial I kept seeing for a Johnny Bravo deal of some kind that featured the following quote:

Johnny Bravo: Hey, look everyone, I got a mango.
Bunny Bravo: That’s a telegram, sweety.
ohnny Bravo: Right, what did I say?
Bunny Bravo: Just read it, dear.

Anyway, I saw this commercial a lot at that time. A lot.

So, as I was portioning out the frozen mango into the little baggies I kept mumbling: “Hey, look everyone, I got a mango.”

I have no idea why I’m bringing this all up now, but it struck me as really funny at the time. I’m guessing I needed to get more sleep, or something like that. I certainly wasn’t thinking clearly.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

