I Still Haven’t Watched Any Of “The Lord Of The Rings” Movies

I have a confession to make: I have never watched any of The Lord of the Rings movies. I’ll pause to let that sink in.

Yup, I’ve never watched any of them. Not a one. I’ve read all the books. I’m even a big fan. I first started reading them back in third or fourth grade (I can’t remember entirely). Still, I never saw any of the movies.

Why? Well, I’m not sure. At first, I was just being loyal to the books. I loved the books and didn’t want to see what they would do to them in the movies. However, that really didn’t hold up when all the reports came in that the movies are good. I don’t know of any purists (though there may be some) who insist that the movies should not be watched. Still, I didn’t watch them.

At some point, I just may not have been willing to devote the time. What are the movies? Eighty hours total? Ninety if you get the extra footage on the DVD special editions? And now The Hobbit is going to be three more movies? Who has that kind of time? It just keeps stacking up, making it even less likely that I’ll ever start watching the movies.

Really, I’ve already spent a lot of time reading the books. If I wanted to devote that much time again, I’d probably reread the books. I just haven’t really felt like watching the movies enough to devote that kind of time.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

