I Still Can’t Have An iPhone

I’ll admit it, I’ve wanted an iPhone for a long time. I don’t really know why, given that I haven’t compared the features available with any other smart phone, but I’ve always wanted one. Maybe I’m just falling into the rep surrounding the iPhone, but I’ve wanted one for a while.

For a long time, it wasn’t an option. I’ve been a Sprint customer for almost a decade now. Until recently, iPhones weren’t even an option. As such, I could look longingly at the iPhones, but I couldn’t get one unless I switched networks. I really didn’t want that kind of hassle.

But, then Sprint got iPhones. I could finally get one…except I couldn’t. As cool as they seem, I still need a physical keyboard. I’ve got calluses on the ends of my fingers. Every time I try to use virtual keyboards, I type even slower than back when I had to use a numeric keypad. It just doesn’t work, and I get pissed.

So, what does this mean? Well, I’m probably never going to be able to get an iPhone. I doubt they are ever going to make one with a physical keyboard. I’m stuck with my HTC touch. It isn’t bad, but it isn’t an iPhone.

I just want to be one of the cool kids.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I Still Can’t Have An iPhone

  1. Greg says:

    What about the 30-day grace period after getting a new device? Could always try again and return it if it still doesn’t work. I’m told the “trial” period for getting used to a full/all touch phone (e.g: IPhone) is right around two full weeks of use.

    • my htc touch evo has a virtual keyboard that i use from time to time when i’m too lazy to open the real one. that almost always leads to swearing, so i doubt i’m going to get used to a virtual keyboard anytime soon.

      • Greg says:

        HTC Touch – isn’t that a device that was released the same year as the original iPhone? And runs Windows 6.5, according to Wikipedia. If both are true, I vote take a deep breath a give it a whirl.

      • I think it’s actually the HTC shift evo touch. I’ve only had it for around two years, but I don’t know how old the model is. And it’s Android.

      • Greg says:

        That makes much more sense. From my readings around the web, Android has the best virtual keyboard; if that’s the case then I can understand your misgivings. I’ve also read but can’t confirm that iPhones are capable of installing other virtual keyboards. Either way, the bottom line is it’s up to the owner/user to use what works best for them. As Lewis Black once said, what’s great for one person can kill the person sitting next to them.

  2. Terrie says:

    Just read your post about the I-phone. I, too, waited a very long time for my I-phone for the same reasons about the keyboard. I just switched to one as my contract was up. You may already know this – I discovered by accident the I-phone has the ability to send text messages by voice! So no need to ever ‘type’ anything ;0 It counts towards your data use – but, my daughter is with Sprint and has unlimited data on her contract. Just a thought and wanted to share.

  3. Pingback: I Finally Broke Down And Bought An iPhone | David Atkinson's Blog

Leave a Reply

