My Wife Fools Me Yet Again

My wife fooled me the other day. I have to admit it, she did. Again.

You see, she’s been trying to get me to go to this upscale taco restaurant that she’s been craving and I am not particularly fond of. We were going to go the other night, but ended up instead going to a coastal Mexican cuisine place that was really good. Supposed to have the 9th best guacamole in the country according to some thing my wife found on Yahoo. Anyway, we avoided the upscale taco place that night but I was still willing to bite the bullet and take her there again at some point.

So, the other night I figured we might as well go. I called her to ask if she wanted to and she said that the coastal Mexican cuisine place had satisfied what she’d been craving. Instead, she asked, wouldn’t I like shrimp pasta?

I thought she was offering to cook. Pasta is one of the things she makes most frequently and I thought she was offering to make some new pasta dish she’d been dreaming up. I said: Oh, that actually sounds pretty good. I was surprised. After all, I was offering to take her out to dinner and she was preferring to cook instead.

That lasted about a second. I was fooled, but not long.

As it happens, there is a shrimp pasta dish I typically get at a local cajun restaurant that she digs quite a bit. She always gets their fried catfish, of which she is particularly fond. She’d been craving fried catfish recently as well.

Yup, she wasn’t turning down my offer to take her to the upscale taco restaurant in favor of cooking at home at all. She’d momentarily fooled me into thinking that, but she was being magnanimous about not making me go to the upscale taco restaurant so she could sneakily try to con me into taking her to the cajun place that she wanted to go to more. Deviltry.

Of course, it worked.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment