Olive Garden Breadstick Complaint Might Not Be As Ridiculous As It Sounds

Apparently, one of Olive Garden’s investors thinks the chain is being reckless with breadsticks.  One of the chief complaints is that the restaurant is giving out too many of them. At first, I wanted to make fun of this along with everyone else. However, I started thinking that it might not be as ridiculous as it sounds.

After all, Olive Garden serves a ton of breadsticks. A ton. It’s kind of one of their signature things, but if they’re giving out more than the amount that people want, they could be wasting a ton of money. Also, if there are so many sitting on a table, I can understand that they might sit long enough that they just aren’t very good anymore.

Why spend money on something that people aren’t going to enjoy? They’ll just be upset at you in payback to your generosity.

Personally, I don’t even eat breadsticks every time I go. Most times for the last five years or so when I go to Olive Garden with my wife, I just get the Zuppa Toscana. I actually enjoy their food, but I adore the Zuppa Toscana. I used to order something else and then fill up on so much Zuppa Toscana that I never ate what I ordered. Finally, I just decided to only get the Zuppa Toscana. I have yet to regret it.

Anyway, I get the soup and my wife gets one of their lighter meals, usually. Sometimes I have half of a breadstick with my soup (or at most a full one), but most times none at all. My wife eats one, maybe two some rare times. Yet, the breadsticks always come and almost always a basket of four or five. We almost always waste at least two.

Why?

So, I can kind of see this. At best, serving too many just doesn’t help. At middling, serving too many could end up with people later munching on old breadsticks, and they are best fresh and warm. At worst, the company could just be throwing away money. It sounds small, but we’re talking about an awful lot of breadsticks here.

Heck, I’m sure they’d still bring more if people wanted even if they trimmed back how many show up by default.

Course, the investor is also recommending Olive Garden stop making its soups from scratch. If they screw up the Zuppa Toscana then we might have a problem.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

