So My Murakami Bingo Didn’t Work Out

So, my Murakami bingo didn’t work out for Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. I’m sure you know what I’m talking about here:

Anyway, I always thought this was amusing and decided to try it while reading Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage. Honestly, it kind of got in the way of reading. Should have guessed that. It was fun, but distracted from the book a little bit. I didn’t like that.

Also, it led to questions that weren’t easily answered. The story about the friend’s father…was that a historical flashback? I didn’t think so, since it was just the friend’s father and not something like the Manchurian wars. Is a mention of a cat enough, or did it need to be a real cat? Is something that is part dream and part not a parallel world? I wasn’t always sure whether to mark something or not.

Regardless, this is what I came up with by the end of Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage:

photo

This was kind of fun to do once, but I don’t think I’ll ever do it again. Now I’m anxiously awaiting the next Murakami book. No pressure, Haruki.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

