For Something Designed To Replace Facebook Ello Is Pretty Tied To Facebook

I’m not sure whether or not I dig Ello, but I am on it. I don’t know whether or not it will replace Facebook, but the main buzz seems to be speculation as to whether or not it will. This amuses me more than the new social network itself. After all, whether Ello likes it or not, there are some pretty heavy ties between the two networks.

Now, I don’t mean literal ties. I have no knowledge of any business relationships between the two, employee overlap, or anything like that. What I mean is that most of the discussion I’ve seen for Ello is in posts on Facebook. Facebook is where I heard of Ello. Given that Ello doesn’t appear to make it real easy to find people yet, most people seem to be notifying others how to find them on Ello via Facebook post. Heck, that even appears to be how most people are procuring their invitations to Ello (though the actual invitation appears to usually be delivered via email as opposed to Facebook).

Regardless, Facebook appears to be instrumental in getting Ello‘s base up and going. It’d be too difficult to hear about and coordinate otherwise, at least for most people. It’s kind of funny really.

Well, at least it amuses me.

Wonder what would have happened for Ello if Facebook had managed to block people from advancing Ello via Facebook resources. Whether or not Ello ultimately succeeds, it would have made it a lot harder for them.

Course, if it gets up and running good Facebook would probably just try to buy it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

