Fear Of A Winter Apocalypse

We’ve been having some really nice weather here. Really nice. Like in the 80s at the end of October. I don’t think it’s snowed at all in the actual city limits yet. If it has, it was only unnoticeable flurries so far.

However, I spent the majority of my youth in Nebraska. Good weather in Nebraska means that sooner or later you’ll get even worse weather to compensate. It’s the Midwestern way of life. It’s the way things are.

Thus, I’m expecting a total winter apocalypse.

I mean, we always seem to have at least one decent snow before Halloween. At least, it seems that way since I’ve moved here. There’s almost always a decent chilling before Halloween hits. Not winter by any means, but something. But…it’s all been nice so far.

Clearly this will be the worst winter on record.

I’ve heard a lot of people predicting. Worse than average cold. Warmer than normal. Above average snowfall. Average snowfall. There have been all kinds of reports, some of which were just hoaxes. Regardless, I bet no one really has any idea.

I’m just sitting over here with my Midwestern worry. You don’t get good weather without something worse coming later…and it’s been pretty nice.

(Of course, too little snowfall means droughts and wildfires later anyway, so maybe winter could be mild and all that could come later. Still, I’m expecting something. Sometime.)

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

