I Don’t Think A Broken Clock Is Necessarily Right Twice A Day

I saw someone recently use the phrase “a broken clock is right twice a day.” I stopped to think about it, and I don’t think it’s necessarily accurate. I think the phrase is “a stopped clock is right twice a day.”

After all, this is supposed to mean that even if the clock is stuck on a particular time, that time will roll around eventually. But, what about a 24 hour clock? Even in that case, it’d only be right once a day. This still presumes a clock with hands as opposed to digital. A stopped digital clock might not show any time at all, and thus never be right.

But back to the broken clock thing…a clock can be broken a lot of different ways. It can be fast, it can be slow, it can get faster and slower. Without more specifics there just isn’t a way to be necessarily sure when it’ll be right.

I’m not even sure why I’m thinking about this so much. I just get irked by platitudes and couldn’t leave this alone.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

