Accessible Restrooms?

I was in L.A. recently and stopped into a store to use the bathroom. They had the bathroom in a weird place. You had to go into an employee area in the back and up a set of stairs. On the way there, I noticed a sign indicating where a handicap accessible restroom (the only one) was. I saw some humor in the sign, so I took a picture.

IMG_0292

This concerned the staff. One of the employees saw me and asked what I was taking pictures of. I’m not sure exactly what they thought I might be doing. Regardless, I told her that though I’m sure the sign wasn’t as it appeared, it seemed funny that they were indicating that the handicapped accessible restroom was upstairs. It just sent a funny unintentional message.

She explained to me that there was an elevator a few feet away which I had not seen. I explained that the sign didn’t mention the elevator.

I then shared this image on Facebook and people mentioned another unintentionally funny aspect of this. The sign says “up stairs,” not “upstairs.” As in the sign wasn’t referencing a place but in fact directing you to go up the stairs to get there. Even funnier, as well as grammatically incorrect.

I’m sure the store wouldn’t like all of this.

I’m still picturing them actually forcing people to go “up stairs” to get to the “accessible” restroom. As I already mentioned on Facebook, if that imaginary scenario (which wasn’t real) was the “accessible” restroom…what would the non-accessible one be? One you have to crawl across hot lava to get to?

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

