Luckily My Assumptions Turned Out To Be Correct

I am lucky today. I made some assumptions recently and they turned out to be correct. We all know what can happen if we assume, but I got lucky this time.

I mentioned recently that I was forced to take my wife to the very first international Hello Kitty convention in L.A. celebrating the 40th anniversary of the creation of Hello Kitty. As one might reasonably expect, this con was a mob scene. Part of the con was a special Sanrio store where they were selling Hello Kitty merchandise that would only be officially sold at the convention.

The line just to get into that exclusive Sanrio store was, on average, four hours long.

I did not want to wait in that line.

I helped convince my wife that the specific items she wanted from that store would be available later on eBay. We knew they would go for more on eBay, but we didn’t think they’d go for too much more…at least not enough to justify standing in line for 4-5 hours. My wife agreed, which was good since they closed the line about the time she was considering queueing up.

This worked out for me, right? Well, only if my assumption turned out to be correct. If I turned out to be wrong I would have a very unhappy wife on my hands.

However, it’s only about a week or so later and I’ve managed to win auctions for both items she was considering buying in that store. I got both for around $5-10 more than they originally sold, and that’s even without considering California sales tax. Given what I perceive as the value of my time, I’m feeling pretty good.

I’m even more thrilled that my wife won’t be considering killing me. At least not for that.

It’s a good day.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

