Goodbye, McFoster’s

Well, we say goodby to McFoster’s Natural Kind Cafe. Those who have never been to Omaha might not know what I’m talking about, but most who have been to Omaha do. McFoster’s apparently closed their doors for the final time recently.

Though I always kind of thought of it as the vegetarian restaurant, they actually served some seafood and free range chicken as well. It wasn’t a horribly fancy place, but it was always good and always interesting. It was definitely a one of a kind place, and that was intentional.

I’ve been going there and loving it for years, though I haven’t been there in a while since I no longer live in town. There was one summer in particular where I was working at an insurance company down the street. It was difficult. I just couldn’t mentally take the adjustment to sitting in an insurance office all day. Suddenly I remembered: McFoster’s.

I went there almost every day for lunch that summer. Curry tuna sandwiches, miso soup, cucumber ranch dressing, crab rangoons with plum sauce, all kinds of good stuff. The servers even recognized me on sight to know what drink to bring me when I sat down. It was great.

I’m not sure I could have taken an entire summer working in that insurance office if it hadn’t been for McFoster’s.

But, it’s gone now. It’s sad, but I guess I should just count myself lucky that I got to be there while it was still around. I’d hate to think of never having gotten to experience it at all.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

