Time To Double Check

I saw a friend commenting on an article yesterday purporting that Floyd Mayweather had just died of a cocaine overdose. My friend was asking if it was true, and people seemed to think that it was. However, I did the first thing I always do when I hear about this sort of thing. I checked Google News for recent articles about Floyd Mayweather.

I didn’t find anything about an overdose. Not a single article. Everything on Google News for Floyd Mayweather related to his boxing career.

Now, I know that Google News isn’t dispositive on anything, but doesn’t it seem like some articles would come up if news of his demise was true? I really doubt a site called Despiertatico would have an exclusive. If this was real, other sites would be reporting on it.

To date, I still haven’t found another source indicating anything in support of Mayweather overdosing. Nothing. In fact, I’ve found something calling the Despiertatico report a hoax. I have no reason to trust this other site either, other than the fact that no one else seems to be reporting on something that would surely be commented upon.

I always look for at least some confirming sources for this kind of thing. Confirming sources aren’t dispositive by any means either, but something that only comes up in a single news source (especially not a known one) is almost always a hoax.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

