Books That Surprised Me In 2014

Everybody seems to like doing year end lists of things like their favorite books in 2014, but I have trouble picking ‘favorites,’ or even ranking things completely against each other. I know if I like something, or if I really like something, but weighing two books against each other doesn’t always make a lot of sense to me…certainly not in a ranked list. It’s not clear cut enough, and my opinions change with my moods. It also isn’t something that is necessarily directly comparable.

We’ll overlook the fact that most people do these before the year is up, thus potentially omitting something groundbreaking they read in the last couple days. I definitely would wait until 2014 is over before making a 2014 list, but maybe others are more organized than me.

What I did decide to do though, was to mention a few books that took me by surprise in 2014 (not necessarily published in 2014, just read in it by me). Just a few, and this shouldn’t be taken as a slight against the other books I read and don’t mention here. These ones are from authors who I was already familiar with, but the authors did something so interestingly different from their other work I’ve read that I wanted to make special note. Range is an impressive thing.

Anyway, let’s get on with the list. You can take it for what you will, though the order is entirely random and nothing should be read into that either.

The Fat Man In History
Black Swan Green
Murphy
Hagridden
Lost in Space: A Father's Journey There and Back Again
Twilight of the Wolves
Marabou Stork Nightmares
The Thursday Appointments of Bill Sloan
The Memory Hunter
Marjorie Morningstar
Love and Death in the Moose League
The Meaning of Names
Metronome
Bald New World
Breakup: The End of a Love Story
Don't Start Me Talkin'
About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Books That Surprised Me In 2014

  1. Pingback: Books that surprised David S. Atkinson | Samuel Snoek-Brown

Leave a Reply

