Ranking Murakami?

Eddy Rathke was talking about Haruki Murakami recently on Facebook, particularly with respect to criticism of Murakami’s writing. Joseph Michael Owens engaged in the discussion and happened to mention that he thought Kyle Muntz and I should post about our Murakami preferences. Eddy agreed, so I thought I’d give it a shot.

Mind you, I still have problems ranking favorites. I like different parts of different things for different reasons, and even that can change with my mood or what I’m looking for at a particular time. This is especially difficult for something like Murakami writing.

Still, for Joe and Eddy, I’ll give it a shot. The below is how I feel right now, for a variety of reasons. I can classify into “most preferred,” “preferred,” and “ones that weren’t my favorites but were still rockin’.”

This is the best I can do.

Most preferred:

The Elephant Vanishes
South of the Border, West of the Sun
A Wild Sheep Chase (The Rat, #3)
After the Quake
The Wind-Up Bird Chronicle
Hard-Boiled Wonderland and the End of the World
Norwegian Wood

 

Preferred:

Dance Dance Dance
Kafka on the Shore
Sputnik Sweetheart
Blind Willow, Sleeping Woman
Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage

Ones that weren’t my favorites but were still rockin’

Pinball, 1973
Hear the Wind Sing
1Q84 (1Q84, #1-3)
After Dark
What I Talk About When I Talk About Running
Underground: The Tokyo Gas Attack and the Japanese Psyche

Whether anyone agrees or not, or even respects my opinion, there we have it.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Ranking Murakami?

  1. I’m not sure I could ever rank his works. Bravo for trying. Your most preferred are interesting choices. I would love to know why you chose them.

Leave a Reply

