Insurance Annoyance

I’m getting a bit annoyed with my insurance company. It isn’t the policy, just their basic administration.

Yeah, I got one of the policies off of my state’s exchange. That was cool, no problems. Got the coverage I needed for a lot less than I was paying at work. However, the company (which is a major one) seems to have trouble finding its behind with both hands.

I set up for autopay. This took a long time for them to figure out, though they eventually did. However, for the last year they’ve been billing me the month after the coverage. Even I knew this was wrong, but there was nothing I could do about it. They just kept doing it and wouldn’t change to bill me for the month ahead.

Mind you, they were also mailing me monthly bills invoicing me for my premium. These did not specify that I was on autopay and would be billed for the amount and so didn’t need to pay in response to the invoice. Every other autopay I’ve ever been on did this. Don’t know why they couldn’t figure that out…but they didn’t.

So, finally I get a notice from them that they’ve apparently been billing me wrong because I was supposed to be paying ahead. Duh. So they said this month they were going to take out two premium payments, one for last month and one for the month ahead. Get things back on track. Fine.

Only, they didn’t. They mailed my my bill like normal and took out only last month’s premium via the autopay.

Finally, I get someone on the phone. Despite the fact that they sent my a dozen or more email messages and also mailings that they’d be taking out two premiums via autopay, they couldn’t manage this for some reason. They’d in no way communicated to me that they’d had any kind of a problem. Apparently, they were just going to let my policy lapse after promising me that everything was scheduled for autopay.

I managed to pay by phone, but they couldn’t really explain to me why they’d had such an administrative problem to begin with, why they told me they were going to do something they didn’t, why they didn’t process my payment for next month via autopay like they said they were going to, or anything. These are business people?

The coverage is fine, but they can’t seem to figure out how to run the premium side of things.

Honestly, the premium side of things is something an insurer should have no problems with. I don’t see why they have so much trouble with basic operations. It’s like someone who can replicate oil paintings of the masters but can’t crayon within the lines of a preschool coloring book.

Anyway, rant over. Just had to get that out of my system.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

