Agreeing To Buy A New House To Get More Bookshelves

Do I have a problem if I agreed to possibly buy a new house to get more bookshelves?

The wife and I bought a townhome a few years back. We knew it had some drawbacks for what we eventually wanted, but it was a really good deal and we decided to take it while we worked on getting what we really wanted. It’s smaller than what we think we need, though I could easily make do, and it only has street parking. My wife wants a garage.

Now my wife found a new place with an attached garage and significantly more space. It also looks like a good deal, and really has everything my wife says we need. It would be a little higher of a mortgage payment in the end, and I’d have a longer commute and have to go through the hassle of a move, but it does have more of what my wife says we need.

Note, for the most part, I’m fine with not having more space or not having a garage or even a dedicated parking spot if it means not moving. My view is just to have less stuff, and ignore the problems my wife occasionally has in locating a parking spot. I don’t drive the car very much anyway, that being mostly my wife. However, I’m agreeing to this process for one reason.

I would be able to have many, many more bookshelves at the new place she’s looking at.

Yup, not the space, not the parking, not any other advantage. I’d take on the hassle of moving, the additional expense, and a longer commute without achieving any advantages except one. The bookshelves.

And yet I agreed. I probably have a problem.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

