Isn’t It A Surprise That SkyMall Wasn’t Bankrupt Before?

I was surprise to hear that SkyMall filed for bankruptcy recently, but probably not for the reason you think. Or maybe for the reason you do think. I honestly don’t know what you think. Regardless, what surprised me was that they weren’t bankrupt long ago.

I mean, the only reason people even look at SkyMall is when they’re trapped on a plane with nothing else to do. At least, that’s the only reason I ever look. It’s full of expensive, odd stuff. Their only hope is impulse buy, because I definitely think better of anything I consider purchasing by the time I get on the ground again. I certainly have never felt like going through the effort of following up once I do get on the ground presuming some impulse to buy remains later.

So SkyMall’s best bet for a long time now is that I order while on the plane, and how could I do that? I’d have to use the plane phone…which cost money. I’ve never talked myself into paying for that for any reason, much less a SkyMall purchase. As such, I’d have to wait until I got to the ground, whereupon the impulse to buy faded.

But now there is WiFi on planes…which I don’t want to pay for either. Still some people do, and they can use it to make SkyMall purchases, right? Well, they can also do other stuff that makes them not bored enough to look at SkyMall…or they can get to other sites that sell better and/or cheaper stuff. SkyMall loses again.

Honestly, I know somebody must have wanted what they were selling, but I really wonder how they haven’t had problems before this. The captive audience thing was good for them, but the difficulty in ordering while captive always seemed problematic. Seems like modern tech trends would just make an already bad situation worse.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

