My Cat Is Allergic To Beets??!!!!!!

One of my cats has had allergy problems for a while now. During the summer, she’d start scratching really bad. Trying to pull out tufts of fur and all that. We’d get her a steriod shot to make her feel better for a while and stop scratching, but it was getting worse. Finally, we sprung for the allergy panel test. After all, if there was a food allergy in there we could avoid it to make things better. Can’t give steriods forever. Isnt’ safe.

So what is she allergice to? Well, virtually every tree and grass in the known world. Also: sweet potatoes, carrots and beets.

Beets? Beets?! BEETS!!!!

When has this ever come up in the history of cats? When has a cat ever eaten a beet? I’ve seen some carrots mixed in as a garnish in some wet foods and I suppose sweet potatoes could be used as a base for some foods (though none I’ve looked at do)…but BEETS?!!!

(Note: not my cat)

Oh well, looks like we’ll be getting her something to reduce her environmental allergies. They can do that, apparently, without having to do regular steroids. Something safer. I think we’re good on the beet front though.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My Cat Is Allergic To Beets??!!!!!!

  1. maybe she is sneaking over to a neighbor for borscht…i wish i was alergic to beets, no i’m allergic to delicious foods like oranges,cane sugar,eggs,wheat….

    • You have my sympathy. I used to be allergic to all kinds of things (milk, wheat, oranges, sugar, eggs, peanuts, etc.) when I was a kid. I got lucky though and all that stopped when I hit about thirteen. Now I have no food allergies, just environmental allergies.

  2. me too with the environmental…you have my sympathy…i am like you and your cat….toxic black molds,so i’m allergic to myself and every chemical in the world & the foods are b/c of molds…& trees like your cat..when i was little it was milk and chocolate and perfume…

Leave a Reply

