We’re Going To End Up With Justin Bieber Singing “I’d Like to Buy the World a Coke” At Halftime

I’m not sure, but Katy Perry may have actually paid to perform the Super Bowl halftime show. I remember the NFL talking about this, and it seems uncertain exactly when she might have paid to do this. However, I can immediately worry where this is going.

After all, this is an age of purported declining music and concert sales. I believe CDs are still for sale, but I’m not entirely sure. The market is reportedly heavily digital now, and revenues from what people say aren’t what they used to be. So, would artists pay to perform the Super Bowl halftime show?

I suppose they might, if it generates them money in return. The NFL seems to think it does, even despite reported declining revenues. However, the performers who might most want the bump would be the least likely to be able to afford it. Also the least likely (note I just say likely) to generate a big buzz for a show. Those most able to afford it might be the least likely to be willing to pay for the bump, already full of buzz themselves.

But, of course, if it takes money to play then it seems likely that things wouldn’t stop there. If the NFL monetizes being able to perform at halftime, wouldn’t the artists monetize the performance themselves? Wouldn’t sponsors pay for performers to do the Super Bowl halftime, but in a way that advanced their product/service? Isn’t this how performers might offset the cost?

It just seems likely to me that the logical conclusion of this is the Super Bowl halftime eventually consisting of Justin Bieber singing ” I’d Like to Buy the World a Coke.”

Maybe I’m wrong, but this looks to be where we’re going. We’re already about the Super Bowl commercials, maybe the Super Bowl halftime is eventually just going to be one big commercial. It could end up that way, given the need for making money.

Good thing I don’t care much about football.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to We’re Going To End Up With Justin Bieber Singing “I’d Like to Buy the World a Coke” At Halftime

  1. Jeremy says:

    I believe it was the opposite–the NFL was discussing charging the halftime show artists to appear, since it is such good exposure (I will resist the urge I have to include a lame Janet Jackson joke with that last phrase).

Leave a Reply

