Inability To Resist Parodying A Sequel For “To Kill A Mockingbird”

Everybody is freaking out, both good and bad, since it was announced that Harper Lee would finally be publishing a second book (supposedly titled Go Set a Watchman), particularly since it’s supposedly going to be a sequel for To Kill a Mockingbird. I felt an incredible urge to write a parody just because everyone was freaking out so much.

I mean, yeah it’s weird that Harper Lee would wait fifty years…especially since she siad she was never going to do this. Could it be great? Sure. Could it be horrible? Sure. Is it possible she’s being manipulated? Sure. I just don’t know…and it doesn’t seem like anyone else does either. Nate Tower commented at one point that he’d seen 40 different articles with 39 different sets of supposed facts about what the book was going to be. In short, mass hysteria for the moment.

We might as well just wait to see the book (I’m going to read it regardless) and not get so worked up. Unless, of course, the reports turn out to be correct that Harper Lee needs some kind of help. If that were true, I’d hope someone would help her.

Anyway, I’m not the only one who the hysteria didn’t sit well with. Jon Konrath posted on Facebook “To Kill a Mockingbird: Kill Harder.” I responded with “Yippie-kai-yay, Boo Radley,” but then I got to thinking. I started thinking of a story.

After all…what’s the worst that could happen from a literary standpoint? What if Harper Lee had been so heavily influenced by American pop culture over the last fifty years that she just jammed together a bunch of different popular movies of the current era into a total mess under the thin guise of a sequel? Is that what people were worried about?

To Kill a Mokkingbird II – Kill Harder by Ahrrper Leeeeee” was the result, which Cease, Cows was cool enough to publish.

Anyway, I just wanted to give the background behind where this all came from. Now, if you haven’t already, maybe you’ll head on over to Cease, Cows and check out what I came up with.

“The one thing that doesn’t abide by majority rule is a person’s conscience.” ― Harper Lee, To Kill a Mockingbird

Homer Simpson: I’ll have to read Marge’s book. And I swore never to read again after ‘To Kill a Mockingbird’ gave me no useful advice on killing mockingbirds. It did teach me not to judge a man based on the color of his skin, but what good does that do me?

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

