Maybe You Remember “The Mysterious Cities of Gold”

I’ve been talking recently about obscure cartoons from the 80s, or ones that at least seem obscure to me for various reasons…usually because no one seems to know what I’m talking about when I ask. I thought The Mysterious Cities of Gold would be a good one.

After all, there were only 39 episodes made between 1982-1983, apparently shown in the US between 1986 and 1990…but then I found out that apparently the series got restarted in 2012-2013ish. I never saw anything about that, and maybe that’s only in France anyway. Regardless, I’m going with it. It’s obscure enough.

(Sorry that’s only the intro, but I’m not finding any old episodes online free.)

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Maybe You Remember “The Mysterious Cities of Gold”

  1. earthoak says:

    Hi – Here is episode one – found it on youtube. Probably will get taken down soon: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=eD2Yh9FiCz0 mysterious cities of gold may be obscure, but it also has a cult following! The DVD of the whole series came out a few years ago, can buy it on amazon. I recently bought it and watched again – held up remarkably well despite its age! Wrote a nostalgia post about it here https://earthandoak.wordpress.com/2015/03/24/a-tribute-to-nostalgia-and-childhood-cartoons/ the new series that came out recently is not up to scratch though.

Leave a Reply

