I Think Of “The Simpsons” Every Time I See Something About The Arsenic Wine

Everything makes me think of The Simpsons. Have you been seeing those articles talking about the lawsuit over arsenic levels in wines? I don’t know if they’re true or not, and I don’t drink anymore anyway, so I’m not too concerned. However, I do think of The Simpsons each and every time I see one.

Don’t you remember “The Crepes of Wrath” episode? That’s the one where Bart goes to France as an exchange student, only to be paired with low budget winemakers who plan to use him as a slave and put anti-freeze in their wine.

Now, arsenic and anti-freeze are completely different things and are in the respective wines for completely different reasons, but can’t you see how my brain might determine there’s a link? I see it…do you see it?

The universe is always making Simpsons references.

About David S. Atkinson

David S. Atkinson enjoys typing about himself in the third person, although he does not generally enjoy speaking in such a fashion. However, he is concerned about the Kierkegaard quote "Once you label me you negate me." He worries that if he attempts to define himself he will, in fact, nullify his existence...
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Think Of “The Simpsons” Every Time I See Something About The Arsenic Wine

  1. Don Wolford says:

    I like The Simpsons too. The very first time I watched it years ago Homer said, ‘Bart, kiss my hairy, yellow butt.’ I busted up laughing. As for arsenic I can’t comment except to say I think we’re getting carried away with health scares. When I was a boy we played with mercury. I don’t recommend it but we’re still alive all these years later. 🙂

    • I broke open a mercury thermometer once and kept the mercury in a butter dish, opening it once in a while so I could watch it roll around. If I suffered any ill effects, I’m not aware of them. Maybe I just got lucky.

  2. Don Wolford says:

    We even put mercury in our mouths!

Leave a Reply

